intelligentlasas.blogg.se

Flash player version check firefox
Flash player version check firefox












  1. #Flash player version check firefox how to
  2. #Flash player version check firefox install
  3. #Flash player version check firefox update

#Flash player version check firefox install

I got this message earlier today and since I know I’ve put off updating Flash I clicked on the install link, because I trust Firefox and even though I knew it might just be a marketing ploy.īut to my dismay it also installed a suspicious-looking program called “Adobe Download Manager” which looked like it was doing the upgrade. Is there any way that a virus could be spoofing this message? Which is odd sinceīesides the obvious, why is Mozilla suggesting I download a file from the Internet rather than suggest updating using the operating system’s package manager (for operating systems which have package managers)? Firefox complains that Flash is out of date, and when I click through to the Adobe website it offers to download 10.0.32.18. but it shouldn’t be hard to take something here and run with it to make FF better overall.

#Flash player version check firefox update

Since I have never FF look for the new plugins webpage, maybe we could just have the browser invoke the first tab as about:checkforupdates which can go to the update plugin page or update firefox page when needed.

#Flash player version check firefox how to

(this should keep users focused and help them understand how to update FF better) I say make it easier, more discoverable and less annoying and make updates a one-stop shop and we should think about just using Tools->Check for Updates to access the update UI options and Add-ons manager from a single source. It seems we have too many ways to do the same thing with add-ons/updates/plugins, etc. (which wastes time, so I turn off -update Add-ons because I know they are updated or I don’t care about updating them) But make it discoverable. I don’t like to restart FF for every single update, but individual ones I want to install/update should just all queue up and install all at once by clicking on a master install new updates for those I selected I want to update instead of single updates. If the Add-on Manager window comes up, I don’t even know if I can close it while its running. and do updates in the background like the Check for Updates already does. I don’t need to see it run, but I may want it to run with a single progress bar informing me its running. I think sometimes the Find-Updates function should be more like the download manager. Also Plugins should have additional option to select ask to update this add-on just like the enable/disable. I think most people forget there is an options UI somewhere in FF. I don’t think updates are part of Advanced Options in FF. it should be a main pane of Tools->Options (Call it Check for Updates Pane), and its not even linked to Help->Check for updates which is inconsistent. Oh wait that is buried deep down in Tools->Options->Advanced->Update. I may have different settings on FF 3.5.3 than I do on FF 3.6 or 3.7. I would rather see the status bar flash or let me know its checking for updates for Add-ons or plugins and have it ask me or point me to a setting showing me how to setup asking me. other implementations show a model window that checks or asks to check… why does Ff do it both ways? I don’t mind if it asks to check when I start, but the Add-on window doing an auto-check after the browser starts and getting in the way is annoying. good idea, just like Add-Ons think they got to check everytime I load FF with the dialog box getting in the way of my browsing experience. There’s ongoing work to implement a similar kind of check in the client itself, but that hasn’t landed yet. After an update Firefox regularly opens our “whatsnew” page so for this initial experiment we simply inserted this check into that flow. The functionality described in this post is implemented on our web site, there is no client support yet. Now, the GetPlusPlus updater just crashes on startup…this is useless!Ĭhris, Does this apply to the trunk? I’ve been updating Minefield of and on lately with Flash 8.x on XP and have yet to see it redirect me to the webpage. When did Adobe’s problem with user’s become a Mozilla problem? I really hate FF now because I’m being forced to update when I don’t want to. I personally disable most of my adobe flash because of annoying ads. It seems to download whatever is needed at the site and then shuts down as soon as I try to enter the meeting. I have firefox 3.5 and have not been able to get into any webinar sites. 36 comments on “Helping users keep plugins updated”














Flash player version check firefox